Dual Citizenship has developed in Africa in recent years. Currently, dual nationality African countries have been approved in different ways.

Globalization has led to a significant increase in the number of Africans migrating voluntarily abroad. Dual Citizenship in Africa is now less about excluding foreigners than Africans who are now living abroad and are part of the highly skilled international workforce. As such, many of these new migrants have begun to advocate for dual nationality and have succeeded in getting their governments to recognize that dual nationality does not mean contradictory loyalties.

Some African countries limit or prohibit dual citizenship.

It is authorized for example in Angola, Burundi, Benin, Comoros, Congo, Cape Verde, Djibouti, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Mali, Morocco, Algeria, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone, Somalia and Sudan, Tunisia, and Chad.

Egypt, South Africa, Mauritania, Uganda and Libya Those wishing to acquire another citizenship must obtain an authorization to retain their citizenship.

In Madagascar, Coté d’Ivoire and Botswana dual nationality is only allowed for naturalized citizens with an authorization for women who automatically acquire the nationality of their husband.

Dual Citizenship in Namibia is allowed only to nationals of origin as well as to Mauritius, Swaziland and Gambia.

Central African Republic, Guinea and Senegal allow dual nationality only for naturalized citizens.

In the case of Ethiopia, a child born to Ethiopian parents in a land law country acquires dual nationality.

Equatorial Guinea does not allow dual Citizenship, as does the DRC, Cameroon and Malawi.


Keywords: Africa, News, Economy, Dual Citizenship, Nationality


Baobab News

© Credits Graphics : Baobab News